Calendula

Blüte der Ringelblume

This afternoon the kids and I planted calendula.  (Plans to plant the whole garden fell through.  I had to console them somehow.)

Calendula is a cheerful flower with amazing wound healing properties.  The oils in the petals keep wound edges soft to minimize scarring; at least that is what I’ve been told and what I’ve observed.  I’ve recently experimented with making simple salves.  I look forward to adding calendula to my recipe!

2 Responses to “Calendula”

  1. SueLovesCherries - My Secret Garden Says:

    I love Calendula and plan on putting them in my garden this year. I didn’t know about the healing – I just thought they were for eating!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    And I had no idea you could eat them! Do you eat the flowers or the leaves?

Leave a Reply

