Steel Cut Oats in Bulk

goldilocks

I’ve wanted to start soaking more of my grains, and I figured oatmeal would be the logical place to start, since we frequently eat it for breakfast.  I read on another Real Food blog that regular rolled oats tend to be too mushy when soaked, so I spent $7 dollars for a little over a pound of steel cut oats, just to see if we liked them.  They were delicious and stick to the ribs much better than regular oatmeal! But the price…Even though they go a lot farther than rolled oats, they are like gold if you buy them off the shelf from a regular grocer.

Lo and behold, steel cut oats are available on Amazon in bulk for just over $1 a pound, with $4.49 shipping. It’s not organic, so I am not sure about the GMO status, but it’s a good start.  Truthfully, it won’t take my hungry crew that long to eat through all these oats.  I tried 2 cups of water to 8 cups of oats, but it wasn’t enough to cook down to a nice porridge…And I had too much left over.  Next time I will try 1 1/2 cups of oats to 8 cups of water.  I told you it goes a long way!   Even with eggs, fruit, and raw milk (which is not cheap), I can supply breakfast for our family of 6 for about $2.  Not bad.

A question for those more knowledgeable about soaking grains:  I read in one place that oats could be soaked in plain water and in another that whey or some other acid should be added in order to effectively break down the phytic acid.  Which is correct?  And does the whey affect the taste?  I’m not sure tangy oatmeal would fly at my house.

Read more great tips for eating real food at Real Food Wednesday.

4 Responses to “Steel Cut Oats in Bulk”

  1. Kelly the Kitchen Kop Says:

    Hey, it’s my first time to your site and it looks great – thanks for joining in on RFW, I hope you’ll come back every week! 🙂

    By the way, I stumbled your post!

    Kelly

  2. Jen Says:

    I made soaked oatmeal following Kimi’s recipe at the Nourishing Gourmet. I have used both steel cut and rolled oats, and both worked well. You really should use some sort of an acid when soaking in order to properly neutralize the phytic acid in the oats. Here’s the link to Kimi’s post:

    http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2009/03/soaked-oatmeal-a-filling-and-frugal-start-to-the-day.html

    Good luck! Jen

  3. Kelli Says:

    Yes, I’ve made Kimi’s recipes that uses rolled oats. I substitute flax seeds for the chia seeds, kefir for the lemon juice, and don’t use any flour. It tastes great!

  4. LaTeaDah Says:

    I think I would stick with soaking in plain water — but have nothing to back that up except for experience. BTW, if you order alot from Amazon, you can pay a flat $75.00 per year and all 2-day shipping is free on anything you buy from them. The entire family shares the account (college age sons) and we find that this is an economical way to get good service. If you buy more from them than oats, it might be helpful.

    😀

    LaTeaDah

Leave a Reply

