Happy Homemaker

woman waving goodbye

I have always loved my job as a homemaker, but weeks like this especially drive home just how blessed I am to be able to stay home.  The kids and I have needed to be gone for the greater portion of the day each day, and life is a whirlwind.  Even the hours that I’m home revolve around getting ready to leave again the next day.  With the exception of a few moments at the supper table, our time together has greatly suffered, and Billy and I have hardly had a moment together either.  As the week goes on, I find that we fall into a rhythm, but it’s not really a healthy one.  Today I even broke down and drank a big ole coffee just to keep me alert through the morning, something I have never believed in doing.  (I’ve always thought that stimulants like caffeine just mask the body’s cry for needed rest, eventually resulting in a greatly depleted system.)

I know that some wives and moms need to work outside the home, so this is in no way a criticism of them, but for me, I think it would be hard to hold the family together if my most energetic hours were spent elsewhere.  Even when I am home all the time, I feel very frustrated at all I’m not getting done, but during weeks like these, I am almost completely unproductive, especially in the area of relationships.  I’ll be happy when we get back to our normal rhythm next week…Laundry, dishes, meals, and time together.

2 Responses to “Happy Homemaker”

  1. Donetta Says:

    Home is where the heart is for us both. soon your heart will be refreshed at all those things that you might otherwise be tiring of a bit. I too love love love being home.

    I hope that your week end has provided you a rest.

  2. jan Says:

    I agree 100%! On top of everything you mentioned, my peace of mind goes out the window with those crazy weeks and I get grouchier and grouchier as the days go by, which in turn puts more stress on everyone which makes me more grouchy, which puts more stress on everyone…:-)

Leave a Reply

