Putting Up Peaches

woman canning

We’re putting up peaches this afternoon (freezing, not canning…although canning is nice too).  I love this summer job!  There is nothing sweeter than the steamy smell of peaches on a hot summer afternoon.

If you’ve never done it before, here’s how in a few easy steps:

1. Carefully drop ripe peaches in boiling water for one minute.

2. Plunge them into ice water for one minute.

3. The skin slides right off!

4. Slice away from the seed.  (If they are freestone—yay!)

5. Place slices in the following solution: 2qt. water, 1 T vinegar, 1 T. salt.  This keeps them from turning brown while you peel the rest of the peaches.

6. Place in 1 quart freezer bags and freeze.

7.  Enjoy a freezer full of delicious peaches for cobblers and other delights all year long!

That’s it!

5 Responses to “Putting Up Peaches”

  1. Mrs. Mordecai Says:

    One more tip . . . once we picked up several boxes of peaches that had been refrigerated. Let’s just say that they peel far more easily after they come to room temperature. We did quite a few batches of hacked-up peaches before we discovered that the next day!

  2. Michelle Says:

    ooh, thanks for sharing that!! 🙂 I love me some peach cobbler!! 🙂 Your blog is SO cute!! I am a sucker for vintage art and it was like stepping into a candy store when I logged on your site! 🙂 love it!! Thanks for visiting my blog and I hope your dad is ok. Mine is doing much better! 😉

  3. Niki Says:

    I usually can my peaces in a syrup. Maybe I’ll freeze a few bags this year as well. Lovely blog you have 🙂

  4. jAne Says:

    I’m learning so much from you! :o)

  5. Kristen Says:

    Hello! I found your lovely blog while looking for a vintage canning picture to put on mine. I hope you don’t mind that I borrowed it – the girl in the picture even looks like me. We’re both a bit cross-eyed! I did give you credit for the pic, though, and linked back here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

