Mexican Chicken Breakfast Skillet

(Regular readers: Hopefully a more fun “Charity Grace”-y post tomorrow…Sorry for not posting this week.)

I have really enjoyed this for breakfast lately.  Tomorrow I will use turkey instead of chicken.

In a small amt of olive oil, coconut oil, or butter, heat about 1/2 c. diced cooked chicken (pastured organic is best of course).  Add a couple eggs (preferably pastured also) and scramble together over medium heat.  Remove from heat and top with cheese, diced tomatoes, salsa, and sour cream.  Add a few black beans if desired.  Eat alone or in a tortilla.

I am still on the hunt for free range eggs.  There is a person about a block from my house that sells them.  They were $3/doz which is out of my price range.  They recently dropped the price to $2/doz.  However, there was recently a murder there.  I can’t bring myself to buy eggs from them!  So near, yet so far away…Maybe I will have my own back yard chickens one day.

Check out more Real Food ideas at Cheeseslave.

One Response to “Mexican Chicken Breakfast Skillet”

  1. jAne Says:

    I’m itching to have my own chickens. I’d like cute little ones with furry feet – know the type? I have much study to do!

Leave a comment