Why I Will Never Be Bored

blog trees

I am always kind of amazed when I hear people talk about being bored or having nothing to do.  Growing up, if we wanted to incite Mama’s wrath we said, “I’m bored.”  Those were bad words at our house!

Even if I had not grown up with a mindset of not being bored, I think life is just too interesting to be bored!  There are never enough hours in the day to do what I really want or need to do.  Maybe I am slow, but I can’t imagine getting everything done.  Here are a few things I’d do if I was totally caught up on all the things I am not getting done right now…maybe one day…

Clean my house. My house is never, ever as clean as I would like it, no matter how clean it is.  We are home all the time; we are busy; we use our house.  It gets dirty and I don’t have enough hours to clean it.

Organize. Same as above.

Decorate. If I had more time and money I would love to decorate more.  Right now functionality is at the top of the priority list.  I hate that.  Hate hate hate it.

Quilt again.

Spin again. Handspinning wool, that is.

Sew a lot more. Experiment with sewing for myself, and sew for my kids.

Knit more/again.

Garden a lot more.

Work in the yard a lot more. Make my yard pretty.  Give the house some curb appeal, which it does NOT have.

Spend more time in  personal Bible study.

Play with my kids more.

Read more books.

Read aloud to my kids more.

Write more. Blogging, articles, maybe even a book.

Cook more/better foods. Experiment with fermented foods like kombucha, sourdough, and kefir.  Cook more “special” meals with really amazing food, nicely set table, etc.  Try new recipes more.

Learn about herbs for cooking and medicine…How to grow and use them, how to make all the concoctions for herbal medicines.

Get to know my neighbors better.

Keep backyard chickens.

Spend more time with friends.

Exercise.

Public speaking. I successfully spoke in public once.  I was TERRIFIED but it went well, and I LOVED it!  I dream of speaking one day when I am very experienced and wise and actually have lots of great things to share that might help other people.

Take more time for personal care. For those of us who are not naturally, effortlessly beautiful, looking cute takes a lot of time.  It would be fun to experiment with hair styles, makeup, nails, etc. instead of just doing the basics like I do now.

Watch more movies. I grew up without movies, so I have a lot of catching up to do, which is a fun “problem.”

Sleep more.

Doll-making. I want to learn to make Waldorf dolls and other kinds of rag dolls, along with doll clothes…I have so many ideas!

Write letters by hand and mail them.

Shop thrift stores and garage sales a lot more.

Learn other new crafts, like collage making and woodworking.

Refinish furniture.

Go on more dates with my husband.

Take a photography class.

Paint/draw.

Start a business.

Journal more.

Travel.

Keep up with politics a bit more (emphasis on a bit).

Learn a foreign language…or several.

Learn to play an instrument or a bunch of them…

Have people over for supper/tea/meals/dessert more often.

Write songs and poetry.

Make my own cleaning products.

I just keep thinking of more and more things to add to my list.  See why I’ll never be bored?  There isn’t enough time in this life to do all I want to do!

What about you?  What would you like to do one day?

8 Responses to “Why I Will Never Be Bored”

  1. Chele Says:

    Oh well, I think my list may be as long as yours or maybe even longer!! LOL. My biggest one I am working on now… is personal time with God. Just me and HIM! 🙂

  2. Chris Says:

    awesome post. some of the things you mentioned on your list are things that I’d never thought of but would be so rad to do! For example, making your own cleaning products. That would be sweet.

    As for my “future to-do’s,” I’d say the biggest one is learn to cook something more complex than stir-fry.

  3. Kim Says:

    As I’m off for the summer (I’m a high school teacher), I have this problem. It’s not that I don’t have things I COULD do, I just don’t feel like doing those things. For me, boredom comes with laziness. Could I do a lot of things? Yes. Do I feel like doing them? Eh…. not really. But that is a great list for motivated, bored people :o)

  4. Jessica Says:

    Stumbled upon your blog. Great post! Good ideas too. Sometimes I get bored and I definitely have a house that needs cleaning!

  5. lisa s Says:

    wow… your list is good. there are WAY too many things i’d like to be doing….

    thanks for your kind comment on my blog….

  6. jAne Says:

    Hm. All of the above with the added absolutely necessary afternoon nap. ;o)

  7. Deanna Says:

    I completely agree with you! There is just not enough time in the day to do everything that interests me!

  8. Anita Scarborough Says:

    What a great list. I am in that some day mode after homeschooling for 17 years and teaching for 11 years I have not “been working” for a year now. I am getting some time to quilt, sew etc. that I did not have the time or energy to do before. Your time will come. I did not allow my children to talk about being board either. I agree that life is too interesting to be board. Have a wonderful year.

Leave a Reply

