School Days

children playing school

I haven’t been posting as regularly as I hoped, because I’ve been trying to get ready for our new homeschool year.  As a homeschool student turned homeschool teacher, I find these preparations remarkably challenging.  I always anticipated that homeschooling would be easy, but I have fears and insecurities every time.  That said, our first day (today) has been a dream.  It’s the best first day of school we have ever had, and possibly the best day in the (short) history of our homeschool.

Someone asked me why.  I think it’s for a few reasons.  One, I created a fairly structured schedule, but much more realistic than last year.  (I loosely followed this format.) It allows for adequate rest, and some things are conspicuously absent–like exercise.  Should I be working out?  Yes indeed!  But sleep and education are more important THIS WEEK.  I hope to work an evening walk into my flex time, but I have not put it in the schedule when I only know that it probably won’t happen today.  Soon, but not quite yet.

Also, we test-drove our morning routine last week so that the children understand that I do indeed expect them to finish chores and music practice before desk time.

Finally, but most importantly, I know that I cannot do this on my own energy and strength of will, so I threw myself on God’s mercy and asked for His help.  He so graciously gives it!  As I read my Bible this morning before everyone else was up, I happened on this verse (which I didn’t remember was in the passage I had already felt compelled to read, Isaiah 40)

He will feed His flock like a shepherd;
He will gather the lambs with His arm,
And carry them in His bosom,
And gently lead those who are with young.

What a sweet promise to a weary mom, especially on a day like today!

4 Responses to “School Days”

  1. clarice Says:

    Just remember two things, you can not be in fear and were God wants you to be. He has called you to HS, you need to trust in that, in Him. Second remember curriculum is just a tool. Bend the tool to the person, not the person to the tool. Also enjoy, it goes by sooo fast xoxoxox Clarice

  2. Stephanie Says:

    You are soooo right, Clarice…Thank you! I love to hear from moms who have been there!

  3. jAne Says:

    I do love visiting here and sooo wish I could rewind the years to experience home schooling all over again. I’ve been done these 2+ years now although I’m still very much involved in the homeschool community and probably always will be. With great anticipation I look forward to being a help to my daughter (if she desires) when she homeschools. Of course, that’s when she marries and has children. Wish it were now. :o)

    A few gentle thoughts:

    * by way of curriculum, less is more
    * step softly through your day
    * regularly refill your well for we cannot give from an empty jug

    Bless you,
    jAne
    tickleberryfarm.blogspot.com

  4. Jenn V Says:

    Stephanie,

    I thought it was just me! Thanks for sharing this. I am feeling so insecure in this, only our second year schooling at home. But I know that God will guide me strengthen me and open up new paths where I only see tangled brambles.

Leave a Reply

