Raw Whole Milk Is Satisfying

boys milking goat vintage

I wish I had something really scientific of profound to share today for Real Food Wednesday, but instead it’s more of a personal observation.  Last week we were unable to connect with the farmer who provides us with raw goat’s milk, so we ran out.  I could tell such a difference in how I felt, mainly in my food cravings and hunger.  Raw, whole milk keeps me going and going without feeling sleepy or lightheaded.  Add grass fed beef or real eggs and butter (unfortunately not pastured/grass fed for me…yet…) and I truck along for many hours.  During our milk-less week, I constantly craved sweets and carbs and felt hungry soon after eating.  Yesterday we got milk again and I am back to feeling satisfied after I eat.  The cravings are gone.

Growing up, we did drink raw milk, but our fear of fat caused us to invest in a (very expensive) cream separater so we could drink it skim.  I wonder if I could have avoided hypothyroidism, hypoglycemia, and weight gain if I had consumed more whole milk, eggs, and healthy meat (all available in abundance) instead of the bread, pasta, desserts, and other high-carb foods that I ate most of the time.  Hmmmm…

For more Real Food Wednesday, go to Cheeseslave!

Leave a Reply

