Back With Some Randomness…

girlreadingarmchair

Check out this delicious blog…Charm City Daily.  Ami is the author of this article on modern retro housewives which made the rounds in blog land some time back.  I love what she calls herself…a retrophile.  I don’t wear heels and a starched apron on a daily basis, but I do dress for the day and try to look cute even when I’m home.  I’m an *improving* homemaker.  I want to demonstrate that my career has value!

~~~

If you’re concerned about swine flu, you might find this post helpful.

~~~

I have one particular child whose love language is gifts.  It doesn’t have to be expensive, but she loves to give gifts and it makes her feel treasured when others give her little things.  So recently I took a decorative box I got on clearance for pennies and turned it into our “sparrow post,” like Tasha Tudor’s family mailbox.  Today I sent the kids tiny invitations to an autumn tea with mom.  I had googled “mini envelope template” and made SIMPLE little cards out of scrapbook paper.  It only took a few minutes.  They may bring a doll or teddy bear (or in the case of my son, probably GI Joe).  Silas is looking forward to the snacks, but my little girls are so excited and they are picking out dresses to wear hours in advance.  It’s sweet how something so simple can bring so much joy!

~~~~

Autumn is my favorite, favorite time of year.  Here in the subtropics, the summers are scorching, but it’s beginning to cool off a little.  The promise of nice weather has inspired me to start working to make the yard usable.  We’ve had a lot of projects going (including filling in a damaged pool), but I’m looking forward to having a place we can enjoy outside.  This morning the breeze was cool and the sun was just right.

~~

My timer has gone off, so break is over and it’s back to cleaning house! Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

