Vacation at the Lake

girls nature walk

We recently spent a few days at our camp.  When I was a new mom and we first bought the camp I was tired all the time and I thought I shouldn’t have to do anything while on vacation.  Somehow it didn’t compute that the family still needed care while we were away.  Once I accepted that, it made our vacations a lot more fun!  At the camp there is still laundry, cooking (a little bit), dishes, and tidying to do, but it’s a lot less than I normally have to do at home.   I manage to sneak in lots of walks with the kids, board games, read-alouds, and a little crafting and magazine perusing.

camptrees1

campetrees2

I love the trees.  I love the quiet.

campepinecone

I love that my kids have unhurried time with nature, just to relax, observe, and be.

campladies1

I love our leisurely walks to the lake.  I don’ t think this ladies’ room near the launch has been used in a very long time.  It sure is cute for being such an…er…utilitarian structure.

campladies2

I’ve never been brave enough to check it out.

campladies4

It still has ruffled curtains at the windows.

campboats

My children agree with Ratty from The Wind in the Willows:  

There is nothing – absolutely nothing – half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.

3 Responses to “Vacation at the Lake”

  1. annamaria Says:

    What a lovely blog you have- I have to come back and read more- it looks like you have been having a relaxing and fun time !
    enjoy!
    Annamaria 🙂

  2. jAne Says:

    I love the idea of owning a wee camp dwelling! We have a vintage trailer that can come with us here and there. We’ve thought about purchasing a piece of property out of state, to visit and to one day move to. We’d then build a simple structure with our vintage trailer close at hand for extra living quarters.

    jAne

  3. Cozying the Camp « Charity Grace Says:

    […] we go to our camp, I try to do one or two things to make it more orderly, clean, organized, or pretty.  The funny […]

Leave a Reply

