Frugal Rehearsal Dinner Outfit!

72131147

Normally I focus here on vintagey, crafty, homey things.  Well, in my world, being frugal and thrifty is part of that.  While this post might have a little different flavor than usual, I hope it’s encouraging and fun nonetheless.

Every now and then Jen at Balancing Beauty and Bedlam has a Frugal Fashionista fashion show, and this time I have such great bargains I can’t help participating.  Here you go!

rehearsaljeans

My brother recently got married, and I was on the hunt for something dressy casual for the rehearsal dinner at his cowboy church.  These Gap wide leg trouser jeans were my first purchase, $5 at Goodwill.  They looked like they had never been worn.  They were super long, but they fit so well everywhere else that I figured I’d make them work.

Since I’m a little lazy and very short on time, I just pinned them up, sewed them in place, and hacked off the excess with pinking sheers.  I was the only one who knew!  (BTW, they look huge here.  Not so in real life.)

Similar Gap jeans sell new for about $60-$70.

rehearsaljeans2

I love the cute button detail.

rehearsaltop

I found the green jacket new with tags at my favorite thrift store.  It was originally $35.  I got it for $1.

The pink shirt was given to me in a bag of “hand-me-overs.”  Hint: If someone offers you clothes, never ever refuse.  It’s worth it even if you can use only one item.  Pass everything else on to someone else.

The necklace came from the thrift store where someone had donated a ton of brand new inventory from a store closing.  It was $2.

rehearsaltop2

Details again!  The frayed seam adds a lot.

rehearsalshoes

These adorable Mudd shoes were given to me at the same time as the pink shirt.  I am super super picky about shoes and I will only consider them if they are in new condition, no visible wear on the bottom or anywhere else.  In that case, they have probably never been worn, or maybe worn once.  These fit the bill.  Similar shoes sell new for around $35.  Cost to me: free.

So, if I had bought all this stuff new I would have paid $150 or more.  Instead, I shelled out about $6.

Visit Jen to see more great, frugal outfits!

6 Responses to “Frugal Rehearsal Dinner Outfit!”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Love the outfit – especially the green jacket. I need to start looking for 2nd hand jewelry too!

  2. Jen@Balancing BEauty and Bedlam Says:

    Yea!! Those are some great finds. And I love the “lazy” frugal fashionista…sounds exactly like what I would do. 🙂

  3. jAne Says:

    Really nice outfit and yowza low prices! As a young child I was indoctrinated into the world of thrift shopping. At 51 I’m still at it, as is my daughter and her best friend and now my daughter’s fiance who is still a bit of a newbie at the craft.

    This afternoon I’ll be heading out to my favorite thrift store in search of orange retro fabric I can use to make the ring pillow for Lizzie’s wedding. The fabric may come from a blouse, dress or tablecloth. Who knows. :o)

    jAne

  4. abbieknaub Says:

    Looks great! I can’t count how many weddings, etc I’ve worn thrifted clothing to! Except my own, I suppose, that’s not quite as easy!

  5. Sherri S Says:

    Love the Mudd sandals. Gap for $5!!!???!!! Amazing steal!

  6. Jessica Says:

    Great outfit!! I totally love it!
    I have a friend that gives me clothes often – and she has awesome style – but she’s a size 4 and I am a (shrinking!!) size 12 – haha. Totally doesn’t work!

Leave a Reply

