Autumn Sweets

girl making cookies

This time of year calls for baking, and all kinds of other sweets.  In a house where we have food allergies (dairy, corn–including and especially corn syrup), and where I’ve noticed that sugar makes us sick when consumed in quantity…Well, the sweets thing can be a challenge.  Because I LOVE me some dessert!

So…I’m planning to compromise a bit.  I’ll enjoy sweets during this season, just not too many.  When I have the urge to bake, I’ll make something over the weekend (the only days I really have time for extra cooking anyway) and share it with a Sunday school class on Sunday.  My kids are welcome to candy they’re given, but just a few of their favorites.  I guess I’m a bit of a mean mommy, but I confiscate it after that, and try to emphasize fun fall activities instead.  If it’s a choice between having strung out, sick children for several weeks or having healthy happy ones, there’s no question for me.

For my allergic child, I purchase some of the (very, very few) candies available without corn syrup or dairy ingredients, and make other special treats…peanut butter balls, old fashioned fudge with coconut oil and rice milk instead of butter and milk, homemade cookies made from simple, pure, safe ingredients.  To tell you the truth, it’s kind of a nice excuse to have to whip up something yummy in the kitchen.

This time of year I especially love spicy and apple desserts.  I’ve been craving a chocolate cake too.

What do you like to make and eat during autumn?  How do you handle the overabundance of unhealthy food?

2 Responses to “Autumn Sweets”

  1. jAne Says:

    I’m a lover of sweets and have to be oh so careful not to dive into gluttony over the stuff. Very difficult. ugh.

    In the autumn I make more breads such as banana, pumpkin or apple spice. By placing a thin slice of bread on a pretty plate with an equally pretty napkin, you create an enjoyable experience of consuming a treat rather than merely noshing on a piece of bread. :o)

  2. Leah Leach Says:

    How do I handle the overabundance of unhealthy food? Umm…I eat it all. Then it’s not a problem any more.

Leave a Reply

